Stacks Image 186

House, Senate elect Prayut Thailand's new prime minister

MPs and senators overwhelmingly voted for Prayut Chan-o-cha to be prime minister of Thailand late on Wednesday night. Gen Prayut will be the head of a coalition government led by the Palang Pracharath Party.

The combined members of the House of Representatives and Senate cast 500 votes for Gen Prayut, well ahead of Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit's 244 and enough to elect the former junta leader as the 30th prime minister of Thailand. There were three abstentions -- House Speaker Chuan Leekpai, Semate Speaker Pornpetch Wichitcholchai and a member of the Bhumjaithai Party. Mr Thanathorn was prevented from voting because his MP duties were suspended over an alleged media shareholding, and a Future Forward MP was ill. Voting began almost 11 hours after the joint parliamentary session was convened.

Bangkok Post
RSS Feed